Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2016, 09:02 AM
bslons bslons is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
bslons has 10 reputation points
Default Avaya ERS 3500 uplink ports configuration

Hi All,

Could someone explain me how should I configure fiber uplink ports on Avaya switch ERS3500 according to below picture.




Vlan 10 is untagged management vlan.

Question 1
for fiber links I need to configure MLT trunk right ? Could someone possibly post configuration example for that port? Shall I be aware of something here?

Question 2
Ubiquiti APs are connected directly to the Avaya switches. They will get IP from Vlan 10. I don't know how to configure the port where APs are connected to accept untagged traffic from Vlan10 and tagged from Vlan20, 30, 40.

I am familiar with Cisco devices and how this is configured there, but not sure how to make it working on Avaya switches.

I would highly appreciate is someone could guide me through. Ideally posting configuration example.

Regards,
Bartosz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2016, 11:39 AM
tgruber tgruber is offline
Hot Shot
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
tgruber has 14 reputation pointstgruber has 14 reputation points
Default

Hi there,

Answer 1:
For uplinks you only need to configure a MLT if you are using more than one Port to connect two devices (i.e. if you would connect your top ERS3500 to the bottom ERS3500 with two Ports at once). So no, in your scenario you do not need a MLT.
I think you confuse trunking with VLAN Tagging - see Answer 3 ;-).

Answer 2 (UAP Ports config):
The Ports need to be in untagPvidOnly mode. This allows one VLAN to go out the Port untagged while the rest of the VLANs get tagged (replace X of course):
Code:
vlan ports X tagging untagPvidOnly
Then you need to put your VLANs on that Port:
Code:
vlan members add 10,20,30,40 X
Finally you need to define the PVID for that Port. This is the VLAN that will be untagged:
Code:
vlan ports X pvid 10
Answer 3 (Uplink Ports):
The Uplinks should be fully tagged (at least we recommend that to our customers most of the time). The configuration would look like that:
Code:
vlan ports X tagging tagAll
vlan members add 10,20,30,40 X
Of course the tagging of the Uplink Ports has to match on both ends.

Finally the confusion between trunking, tagging, link channeling etc is understandable because some Vendors call it "slightly" differently:
Cisco:
Trunk - Use 802.1q to tag frames
Link channel - Bond several Ports together into a Link Aggregation

Avaya and HP (and others):
Trunk - Bond several Ports together into a Link Aggregation. Avaya also calls this a MLT (Multi Link Trunk)
Tagging - Use 802.1q to tag frames

Cheers

Thomas
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:39 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.