Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Aura & Unified Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2018, 03:28 AM
mbinz mbinz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 5
mbinz has 10 reputation points
Exclamation Avaya AVP 7.1.3 Update VM Greyed Out

Hi all,

Im in the midst of deploying and staging system for our customer. The system is AVP with CM, Utility Server, and Branch Session Manager. The AVP is at 7.1.3 which is something I wanted. The rest of the components are at 7.1.0, meaning I have to patch it.

Well, now I get all my patch file and patching sequence. I managed to patch my US and CM(LSP), through their respective webpage. Then it comes to BSM.

I am unable to login to my SMGR page, just showing ERR_CONNECTION_TIMEOUT thingy and when going through my Solution Deployment Manager (SDM), the "Update VM" button is greyed out. Be it when the VM powered on or powered off.

Just throwing out the systomps, guessing anyone has idea of what might go wrong or experienced this? Also, happily to provide more info to help you understand the current issue we having.

Thank you in advance.
Cheers,
Hanis
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Webp.net-compress-image (2).jpg (52.2 KB, 4 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2018, 11:01 AM
mlombardi1's Avatar
mlombardi1 mlombardi1 is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 492
mlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation pointsmlombardi1 has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Aura 7.1 requires DNS always be reachable, even during initial deployment which introduces a slew of logistical issues for installers. Customer DNS obviously isn't available when an AVP system is being staged off-site for an installation which is standard practice. If DNS is unavailable, the virtual machines will not function properly and I've seen this manifest in VMs refusing or dropping SSH sessions, web interfaces not initializing, SDM deployments hanging endlessly at the sanity check, etc.

The recommendation I've received from Avaya was to either load everything while physically on the customer network (which is ridiculous) or use 127.0.0.1 for DNS assignment during staging and then later update DNS on all servers when installed on the customer network.

I've tried the 127.0.0.1 method and didn't have luck with it. For this reason, any AVP-based Aura 7.x system I've installed has been 7.0. I've only seen 7.1 run correctly on customer VMware. No experience with 8.0 yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.