Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   IP Telephony and Convergence (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Avaya Site Administration Access - Need IP Address (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4324)

allen200 03-03-2014 02:03 PM

Avaya Site Administration Access - Need IP Address
 
Hello, not sure if this is correct spot for this question... but I am trying to get the ASA application up and running after we had a major network upgrade.

My best guess is that the phone system was assigned a new IP address on our system. I have finally figured out how to get access to the server (Had to find passwords and stuff, as well as make a crossover cable) but now I don't know where to go within the application to find the IP or MAC address of the unit. Any help would be great

aa1 03-04-2014 04:34 AM

Get the IP address
 
Hello, what version of Avaya Aura Communication Manager do you have?

using ASA, there are typically two methods to access the Communication manager:
a) direct to the IP address of the server
b) via a CLAN board's IP address (this requires additional administration)

Since you have already managed to access the server via the crossover cable, then you can use Linux commands to find the IP address of the servers.

Depending on whether you have a pre Communication manager release 6 server, or a duplex configuration (active and standby servers), or a multivatange express, the location to get the IP might be different, nevertheless, the command:

cat /etc/hosts could be a good place to start. this will list all the ip addresses configured in the hosts file and you should see one that corresponds to your server.

another command would be:

ifconfig. it will list the interfaces and their IP addresses.

Hope this helps.
Arbi

allen200 03-17-2014 01:09 PM

aa1,

I am a little confused with Linux commands. The computer I am using to access the server is running windows. Will these commands work through the command prompt window?

thank you, my apologies for taking so long to get back here.

allen200 03-17-2014 02:28 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I think I have attached an image of the screen I am able to get to... hope this helps. Can i go from this screen to anything that will tell me the IP address of the server?

aa1 03-18-2014 01:21 AM

Putty
 
yes, correct. those are Linux commands. Those commands need to be executed on the server itself. Since you already have found the IP address, username and password of the server, you may connect to the server's Linux prompt and run the commands.

please use an SSH client. PUTTY (http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/)

use SSH option and type in the IP address of the server (once you have your laptop/PC connected to the server). when it prompts for username and password, type in the one you have and it should put you on the Linux prompt and you may then be able to run those Linux commands!

aa1 03-18-2014 01:30 AM

Get the IP address
 
Great idea to take the screen shot. yes, that's also a good place to go to. It's the web interface. The IP address that you have used is known as the services IP address, so you have your laptop/PC directly connected to the server.
Click on "launch maintenance web interface", then from there you will be able to configure the server. You don't need to configure, but choosing that option will give you the current IP address settings.

let me know if these help!
Arbi

allen200 03-18-2014 03:36 PM

Arbi,

Thnk you so much. I was able to get to the IP address of the server... so that is good. Now, When I use that IP address in ASA, I still get an error that the server is not reachable. I try using command prompt and pinging that IP address and it is not reachable either. The gateway IP is correct though, so I know the server is on the correct network with my computer. Any thoughts on this?

thanks again,
Ryan


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:42 AM.