Avaya Support Forums

Avaya Support Forums (http://support.avaya.com/forums/index.php)
-   Avaya Aura & Unified Communications (http://support.avaya.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   No Audio on internal calls using IX Workplace (http://support.avaya.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14235)

angus5 03-25-2020 06:10 AM

No Audio on internal calls using IX Workplace
 
Having a weird issue, we have just rolled out the IX workplace to about 6 users, everything works fine unless they are connected to the VPN. If they are connected to the VPN, calls from outside work fine, however if they make or recieve any calls from within our agency they are unable to hear any audio and the person on the other end cannot hear them.
It is this way for 5 of the 6, I am #6 and the first install, everything works just fine for me. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated, I have not been able to find any differences between my setup and theirs.

mlombardi1 03-26-2020 07:33 AM

Softclients on the VPN and endpoints on your voice subnets are unable to exchange media directly with one another. Create a separate network region representing the VPN with direct media disabled. It should have a connection defined to the location containing the VPN gateway. This is typically a main/core location so it should have media resources available also. RTP streams to/from the VPN will remain anchored on a media resource that is reachable from both the VPN and non-VPN endpoints.

lafon3 03-27-2020 04:45 PM

I had the same issue. I didn't have to create a separate network. I was able to make them communicate by adding “DISABLE_DIRECT_MEDIA” and verify UDP Range 40750-50750 (for RTP) were added to my firewall.
Link for “DISABLE_DIRECT_MEDIA” below
https://www.tek-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=1801703

markgallagher 03-29-2020 03:33 AM

Disabling direct media is worth a try as a quick fix. But if it does resolve the issue, it means all you IP traffic for established calls is having to go through the control unit even when it doesn't need to. So you should still continue to investigate why the calls can't take a direct route between A and B.

chelungas 04-05-2020 11:25 AM

Hi,
In my experience with no audio issues, it is related to network routes.
Validate ALL the chain, I mean check with pings and traceroutes all the path from phones or softphones) to Media Servers (and MGs), and of course the SBC. It is usual those elements are on separete VLANs.
Some times we have seen path "brokens" or no route at all


And some times the headsets are not configured well on laptops :D

Hope it helps.
regards

gottwav 04-22-2020 10:26 AM

I have the same problem. If I unplug the H.323 deskphone, or change it to SIP, the Equinox over the VPN will work fine. I think it is a network problem but have not been able to figure out exactly what. Or tls vs tcp? encryption?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 AM.