Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Telephones, Adjuncts, and Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2014, 05:59 AM
gm2 gm2 is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
gm2 has 10 reputation points
Question 1608-sw Losing configuration

Hello there!


1º offtopic: We have two avaya IPO500v2 (at two different locations) with 100 avaya ip phones (model "1608-I black"). My boss's boss has a boss that performed the purchase. My boss's boss does not know what an IP address is or what an operative system does or is used for. Me and my co-workers are responsible for IP Telephony. I had to specify that I'm not an Avaya customer in the forum's registration because I don't know what the other options meant. I've got no customer numbers or whatever at hand. Maybe, the boss from my boss's boss has them. No big companies -like avaya- ever think of this?
What if I could provide a phone serial number and you track down who am I in terms of user number / contractor / etc? I only know about vlans, ip addresses and orders that tell me to make the phones work! I'm the kind of person that is meant to use this forums, not the boss who makes purchases!. Sorry, I got carried on but I see this VERY often and drives me a little insane! Sorry about the rant, I know you're here to try and help us out!


"Papelera Samseng" is a paper factory. It has two physical locations: The office complex and the factory complex. We've got one IPO500v2 at each location.
The Factory complex gets lots of Power outages due to equipment replacements or whatever. The problem we're facing is that during power outages, phones configuration gets lost.


We are currently working with a Tagged VLAN for VoIP. When our phones lose configuration, 802.1Q sets to off, and they get invalid IP addresses, rendering telephony useless.
As I previously said, we've got 100 telephones total, at least 60 are deployed at the factory location; and power outages are a common thing for this kind of business.
The IPO500v2 units are protected by online UPSs but we cannot install UPSs for each workstation.


Sometimes, the phones show "Finding Router". We have to reboot the unit and then it registers without issues. Is this normal? What might be happening?


Long story short:
- Is there a way to 'hardcode' the 802.1Q = on and VLAN = xx in the 1608-I configuration?
- Is there a workarund or a debugging option to understand what's happening behind the "Finding router" message?


Thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2022, 08:54 AM
an58 an58 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 3
an58 has 10 reputation points
Default

When your phone loses configuration these SW sets are helpful for fixing these problems. The topcvwritersuk.com/purplecv-review/ is helpful in getting a valid IP address and you can make changes in your setting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.