Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > IP Telephony and Convergence

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2014, 03:01 PM
dhborchardt dhborchardt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
dhborchardt has 10 reputation points
Default 46xxsettings file in other folder

I have both 46xx phones and 96xx phones. I have two separate folders, one for 96xx and one for 46xx files. Am I supposed to use the same settings file for both? If I use one and put it in the 46xx folder, then my 96xx phones cannot see it. I tried altering the upgrade file to include the path but that did not work and I saw in the admin guide where it said not to alter this file. What is the best way to configure this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2014, 04:31 PM
t848756 t848756 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
t848756 has 13 reputation pointst848756 has 13 reputation points
Solution Delivered

both 96xx and 46xx phones look for 46xxsettings.txt. You can use the same file for both series of phones - the latest for your 96xx would be best. In various parts of that file there's stuff like "if model=4610, goto SETTINGS4610" and so on for every model of set. You've got global options that apply to all phones, and then exlusive subsets of options that apply to specific models of phones.

You've got DHCP option 176 (4600) and 242 (9600) telling your phones how to formulate the URL they ask for the file - so, HTTPSRVR=a.b.c.d, HTTPDIR (optional) = phones. Phones would then ask for http://a.b.c.d/phones/46xxsettings.txt, They would also ask for 46xxupgrade.scr and 96x1Hupgrade.txt for their firmware updates, but that's beside the point.

All to say, get your settings done once, right, and in a single 46xxsettings file and point both DHCP options to the same place and you should be fine

Last edited by rbrookes; 03-19-2014 at 04:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2015, 04:36 PM
xhera xhera is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
xhera has 10 reputation points
Question 4610SW IP, SIP Configuration

Hello,
I'm newer with Avaya phones.
recently I bought some used 4610SW IP, but I see that is not easy to configure.
I need to use this phones as SIP, is any way to have web access on this model for configuration?
Please help me, I have couple days that I'm trying to configure but nothing yet.

Regards
Elis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2015, 11:40 AM
zakabog zakabog is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 300
zakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

There is no web configuration for these phones since they're only intended for Avaya phone systems where you can easily plug them in and have them work as long as DHCP is properly configured. Is there any reason you're trying to use them as SIP phones? There is a SIP firmware for 4610 phones but it's very limited in features, and you're going to need to download it and get the phones to pull it from a provisioning server.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2015, 01:44 AM
xhera xhera is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
xhera has 10 reputation points
Default

Hello Zakadog
Thank you for your reply
I need to use this phones as SIP because in my office I have 3CX server, also i have a platform on www.4psa.com and I need to use this phones on this cloud server.

I have downloaded Sip firmware and its installed on the phones, but I have difficulty with configuration.
I have try the script 46xxsettings.txt to modify sip account and pass, when I upload this file on the phone no changes are made.

Please any idea how I can config more easy this phones for my platform?

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2015, 08:30 AM
zakabog zakabog is offline
Genius
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 300
zakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation pointszakabog has 25 to 49 reputation points
Default

Any reason you went with Avaya phones and not something designed to run as a SIP device like a Polycom?

When you boot up the phones do they show that they're pulling the 46xxsettings.txt file? You should see something on the screen like

http://server/46xxsettings.txt

then it should say 200 -1 or something like that, if it says anything like 404 then the file isn't being downloaded correctly. Once you confirm that the file is being downloaded then you should be all set as long as it's setup correctly. It's not a simple process to configure the phones for SIP since that's not what they're intended for.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 AM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.