Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Avaya Aura & Unified Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2012, 04:02 PM
anaya anaya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
anaya has 10 reputation points
Default SMG Database Replication

I have a CS1000E system Rls. 7.5. I have set up this system and it is running and in production.

I have another site that will be an SMG1000E off the main site. I have set up all the GR backup information in the Main site and I try to start a manual backup from LD 43 (BKR 1) and it will go through the database preparation, but it fails the transfer. (see below)


>ld 43
EDD000

.bkr 1
Starting Backup according to Rule 1
Backup mode: Geographic Redundancy Manual
Backup Rule type: SCS

Backing up reten.bkp
Starting database backup to "/e/bkdb/backup/tmp":
KEYCODE
DIRECTORY
CONFIG
DATA
HI
ZONE
ESET1
ESET2
NODE
SYSCFG
SMPCONF
FORWARDLISTFILE
PENDINGCPMSGLST
ACCOUNTS
ERL
ZBD
NZON
ZSRN
ELIN
SUBNET
NTP
MGC
SYSTEM_PARAMS
PORT_CUSTOM
PORT_STATE
EPTFLAG
DVLA
HSEM
Backing up reten.bkp to "/e/bkdb/backup/tmp"
Database backup Complete!
BKR - Backup preparation to "/e/bkdb/backup/tmp" completed
BKR - TAR Archiving "/e/bkdb/backup/tmp" ... completed
BKR - GZIP Compressing "/e/bkdb/backup/bkdata.tar" ... 100 percent completed

BKR - AFS send "/u/bkdb/backup/bkdata.gz" ...
SRPT259 AFS: AFS failed to synchronize [GRNWAY] application with target[10.10.20.100]
SRPT4640 Remote Backup to another CS failed (10.10.20.100).
GR Manual Backup according to rule failed!
.
EDD000

.TEMU191 GR Manual Backup according to rule (1) failed.


Backup Information


=> prt bkpr
Number of Backup Rules defined = 1
----------------------------------------------------
NN Dest Parameters N-of-vers Name
----------------------------------------------------
1 SCS 10.10.20.100 2 SMG_BACKUP

=> prt grdrc
GRDRC Geographic Redundancy Data Base Replication Control
----------------------------------------------------
Rule for backup on Primary CS = 1
ABKUP = SCHD
Rule for restore on Secondary CS = 1
ARSR = YES
ASYSLD = YES
----------------------------------------------------
=>

What I have a question with is, the SMG is a CPMG so the Destination IP address is the ELAN IP address for the CPMG card (set in Linux). Is this correct?

And is there anything else that needs to be set up for this to work?

Any help would be appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2012, 11:44 AM
btoth btoth is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
btoth has 10 reputation points
Default

You need to add an elan gateway route for data replication on a CoRes SMG

In the UCM select the element for the SMG.
Open IP Network then select Host Routes and Tables.
Select Route Table then select add.

For the destination ip address Use the main network ELAN ip address the Main Callserver is on.
Its "USUALLY" the gateway ip address the main callserver is on minus 1. ie: the main callserver elan gateway is 192.168.0.97 the main elan network ip would be 192.168.0.96. But to be sure confirm that with your network guy.

Keep the gateway ip address thats present. It should be the ELAN gateway ip of the CoRes server.
Uncheck the host route
Destination netmask should be the subnet mask of the main site.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2012, 09:25 AM
anaya anaya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
anaya has 10 reputation points
Default

Just to put the resolution here.

You program all the GR items in the Main site. Before you transfer the data, you have to build a Backup Schedule and GRDRC block in the SMG side.

I was reading this and it just looked a little wierd that you would put a backup schedule in the Remote Side, but in essence what it does is allows the SMG to receive the file.

Once I did this, I did an EDD on the Main and it sent over the database. The SMG received the database, copied and sysloaded to take the database and all has been working fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2012, 07:58 AM
jmccallister jmccallister is offline
Aspiring Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
jmccallister has 10 reputation points
Default

I did the above and the SMG acts correctly and receives th e file and acts on it and sysloads etc.. but on the MO side it still says it fails when in fact it went through just fine.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2012, 10:47 AM
anaya anaya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
anaya has 10 reputation points
Default

If this is a Co-res system the reason the Main site shows failure is because the default route on the Co-res side is the TLAN Gateway. This is set up during the Linux OS load.

To resolve this issue, you can do two things:

1. Trunk your VLAN segments so that traffice from the TLAN will flow to the ELAN IP Addresses if needed, or

2. Add a default route in the Co-res Signalign Server at the Co-res side
1.1.1.1 (your Main site ELAN IP Address) to the ELAN Gateway

The reason this is happening is because is because the Main Office sends over the database file, the SMG recevies it and sends back a successful transfer message, but it is trying to send it over the ELAN segment and there is no route defined.

Do either of these and your issues will be resolved.


So the amended process for replicating the database to a Co-res system, assuming you have done the above. If not a Co-res system, then build all your IP information in the SMG side first.

1. Build the Main Call Server
2. Add a backup rule in ld 117
=>new bkpr X scs 2 <ELAN IP Address of SMG>
3. Complete a backup (Run EDD - the replication happens not from the active database, but rather from the last reten backup file)
4. At the main site, from LD 43 - .bkr X (X being the rule number for the SMG)
5. At the SMG site BEFORE DOING ANYTHING WITH THE REPLICATED DATABASE - create a backup rule in ld 117 =>new bkpr 1 scs <ELAN IP of the main site>
6. Create GRDRC in SMG in ld 117 =>new grdrc 1 schd 1 no no (make it just like this)
7. Go to ld 135 and do - .stat gr (you will see your file that came over)
8. in the SMG go to ld 43 and do: .rsr 1 (TYPE YES FOR IP FILTERING - VERY IMPORTANT YOU TYPE YES. IF YOU DO NOT YOU WILL NEED TO REBUILD THE CALL SERVER. IT WON'T BRING OVER ANY PROGRAMMED MEDIA GATEWAY INFORMATION IF YOU DO NOT TYPE YES.
9. After the database populates the SMG go to LD 135 and do: .sysload active (type Yes to reboot the system.
10. Once the system comes up, it may replicate again, let it do it's job and it will automatically sysload.
11. Go into your SMG signaling server and build your Node for the system, and all the other work for the Signaling Server.
12. Go have a beer. You should be done.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:05 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.