Avaya Support Forums  

Go Back   Avaya Support Forums > Small and Medium Business Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2014, 08:42 AM
kirchenlo kirchenlo is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 195
kirchenlo has 15 reputation pointskirchenlo has 15 reputation points
Cool SSH Access for 96xx IP Phones

Hello,

did anyone tried to accessing a phone via SSH to change and to do diagnostic remotely? I knew you can activate the SSH via the 46xxsettings.txt file and that it works when you connect. I only do not know the password and the commands available via SSH, mening I cannot conenct as I do not have a pasword, does somone can help with that?

My issue is simple we have a distributed IPO with 80% of the sets installed on remote sites and I need a way to troubleshoot the sets without driving to the remote offices. Any idea if Avaya gives you this access?

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2014, 02:30 AM
richa164 richa164 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 131
richa164 has 23 reputation pointsricha164 has 23 reputation points
Default

If you have a scn setup you can use the monitor or SSA applications to troubleshoot the sets.

If they are networked in some other method think about team viewer or similar , and install manager , monitor and SSA on a local pc networked to the local IPO`s then you can manage the system from any location.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2014, 05:01 AM
kirchenlo kirchenlo is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 195
kirchenlo has 15 reputation pointskirchenlo has 15 reputation points
Default

That's not really what I want to do.

I would like to use the SSH Server of the phone to change parameters related to phone it self, for example changing VLAN ID, clearing the set remotely and others settings and functions available normally only via the "craft" menu.

Is there anyway to access these sets?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2014, 05:49 AM
richa164 richa164 is offline
Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 131
richa164 has 23 reputation pointsricha164 has 23 reputation points
Default

If you mean ssh to the sets and administer no you cant.

All settings like that are changed in the 46xxsettings file , you need to figure a way to change the file locally and drop in the http root dir of the local http file server that services your phones, then reboot the phone to instigate the changes you have made.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:11 PM.

This Forum is provided solely for the use and convenience of Avaya customers and partners. Use of the Forum is subject to the Terms and Use and Privacy Statement found at www.avaya.com. No other use is permitted. The Forum including all content posted is “AS IS” and Avaya expressly disclaims all warranties and/or guarantees as to its accuracy, reliability, usefulness, quality or non-infringement of intellectual property. Avaya reserves the right to remove any content posted on the Forum at any time and for whatever reason.

Avaya will not be liable for any content posted on this Forum, including, without limitation, any errors or omissions or for any losses or damages of any kind incurred as a result of use or reliance on any content, regardless of its origin.

You expressly understand and agree that you assume all risks associated with use or reliance on this content.