 |
Restoring Backed-Up
System Files
|
This topic contains the following information:
The messaging information stored on an ftp server or on an email
server during the data backups is used to restore the system to an operational
state.
Performing a Restore (UNIX/Linux-based FTP Server)
|
You must stop your messaging system before you restore
data. See the instructions that follow. |
The time required for a restore depends on the
amount of data on the system and the speed of LAN traffic. The following
procedure works for both attended and unattended backups.
- Stop the messaging
software (voice system).
- At the Server (Maintenance) Web page, select:
View/Restore Data
The system displays the View/Restore
screen.
- On the View/Restore Data screen, select one of the following options
by clicking the corresponding radio button:
- FTP. Before the
FTP server will transfer the backup image, the Communication Manager server must
first log in to the FTP server. You must therefore also enter
the following information:
- User name.
Enter "anonymous" if you are using an anonymous
account. Otherwise, enter your real user name.
- Password.
If you are using an anonymous account, you will typically
enter your email address as the password. However, you should
check with the FTP server administrator to verify this. If
you are not using an anonymous account, enter your real password.
- Host name.
Enter the DNS name or IP address of the FTP server on which
the data was backed up. Use the dotted decimal notation to
enter IP addresses (for example, 192.11.13.6).
- Directory.
Enter the path name for the directory in which the data is
stored on the FTP server. Contact the FTP server administrator
if you have questions.
- Local directory.
Choose this selection if you know the backup image was saved to
a local directory. You must enter the path name for the directory.
The default directory is /var/home/ftp.
- Click View.
The View/Restore Data results screen
lists the backup images stored in the location you specified.
The most recent backups are listed at the bottom of the list.
You must select a backup image before you
click View, or an error message appears. To clear it, simply click
the browser's Back button, then select a backup image.
- Select the backup image you want to view or restore by clicking
the corresponding radio button. If you must restore the Communication Manager server data
sets as well as the messaging data sets, you restore
the Communication Manager server data first. If the hard drive is new, and the release
number of the software on the hard drive is more recent than that
of the backup data, click on Force restore if backup version mismatch
and Force Restore if server name mismatch.
- Click one of the following buttons:
- Preview. Use
the Preview button if you are not sure you have selected the correct
backup image. When you click Preview:
- A View/Restore Data Results screen
displays a brief description of the data associated with
the backup image.
- Messaging data will have one of the following
names attached to the backup file name:
- audix-ann for announcements
- audix-tr-msg for translations and messages
- audix-tr-name-msg for translations, names, and messages
- audix-tr-name for translations and names
- audix-tr for translations only
- You can then click Restore on this second screen
to begin the restore process. If the hard drive is new, and
the release number of the software on the hard drive is more
recent than that of the backup data, click on Force restore
if backup version mismatch and Force
Restore if server name mismatch.
- Restore. When
you click Restore, the system displays a View/Restore Data results
screen that tells you whether or not the restore procedure is
successful.
- Do one of the following:
- If you have any remote networked machines, do the following:
- Logoff of the Communication Manager server.
- Log in to the Communication Manager Messaging web page.
- Run a manual update to and from all remote networked machines
to correct any database inconsistencies. See
Running a Remote Update Manually.
- Continue with step 8.
- If you do not have any remote networked machines, continue
with step 8.
- Restart
the Communication Manager software.
Performing a Restore (Windows-based
FTP Server)
- Stop the messaging
software (voice system).
- At the Server (Maintenance) Web page, select:
The system displays the View
Backup Log screen.
- Select the backup image you want to preview or restore
by clicking the corresponding radio button. If you must restore the
Communication Manager server data sets as well as the messaging data sets, you
restore the Communication Manager server data first. If the hard drive is new, and
the release number of the software on the hard drive is more recent
than that of the backup data, click on Force restore if backup
version mismatch and Force Restore if server
name mismatch.
- Click one of the following buttons:
- Preview. Use
the Preview button if you are not sure you have selected the correct
backup image.
The system displays the Preview
Data screen.
On the Preview Data screen, enter the following data:
- User name.
Enter "anonymous" if you are using an anonymous account.
Otherwise, enter your real user name.
- Password.
If you are using an anonymous account, you will typically enter
your email address as the password. However, you should check
with the FTP server administrator to verify this. If you are
not using an anonymous account, enter your real password.
- Pass phrase.
Enter the encryption password, if any. If there is no encryption
password, leave the field blank.
Click the Preview button.
- A View/Restore Data Results screen
displays a brief description of the data associated with
the backup image.
- Messaging data will have one of the following names
attached to the backup file name:
- audix-ann for announcements
- audix-tr-msg for translations and messages
- audix-tr-name-msg for translations, names, and messages
- audix-tr-name for translations and names
- audix-tr for translations only
- You can then click Restore on this second screen to
begin the restore process. If the hard drive is new, and the
release number of the software on the hard drive is more recent
than that of the backup data, click on Force restore if backup
version mismatch and Force Restore
if server name mismatch.
- Restore. When you click Restore, the system displays
a Restore Data screen.
On the Restore Data screen, enter the following data:
- User name.
Enter "anonymous" if you are using an anonymous account.
Otherwise, enter your real user name.
- Password.
If you are using an anonymous account, you will typically enter
your email address as the password. However, you should check
with the FTP server administrator to verify this. If you are
not using an anonymous account, enter your real password.
- Pass phrase.
Enter the encryption password, if any. If there is no encryption
password, leave the field blank.
- If the hard drive is new, and the release number of the software
on the hard drive is more recent than that of the backup data,
click on Force restore if backup version mismatch and
Force Restore if server name mismatch.
Click the Restore button.When you
click Restore, the system displays a View/Restore Data results
screen that tells you whether or not the restore procedure is
successful.
If the results are not shown soon, you can also check the status
using the following steps:
- Select the Restore Status option from the main menu.
The system displays the Restore Status
Selection screen.
- Click the most recent restore in the list, and click Check
Status.
The system displays the Restore Status
screen.
| NOTE: The
Refresh button is not available for this release of software.
|
- Repeat steps 1 and 2 until the message Restore
of ... completed successfully appears.
- Do one of the following:
- If you have any remote networked machines, do the following:
- Logoff of the Communication Manager server.
- Log in to the Communication Manager Messaging web page.
- Run a manual update to and from all remote networked machines
to correct any database inconsistencies. See
Running a Remote Update Manually.
- Continue with step 7.
- If you do not have any remote networked machines, continue
with step 7.
- Restart
Communication Manager software.
Top of page
|
|
 |
|
|
|