|
IP Office 3.0 Manager |
|
Users are the people who use the system and Dial In users are for data access. To be recognized as a system User, one does not need to have an Extension Number that physically exists; this can be useful if the user does not require a physical phone associated with that extension, but does require the use of other system features such as Voicemail, call forwarding, etc.
By default, each Extension is associated with a User. The User Name is used to identify the caller in the display of suitable phones and PC programs. These User Names can be changed via the User tab within the User Form.
Physical extensions are associated with an extension number through the Extension Form. A User is associated to that extension by setting that extension number in the User form.
Aside from the
standard user, the system
also recognizes the following user set up:
No User: Used to apply settings to extensions which
have no associated user.
Remote Manager: Used as the default settings for dial
in connections.
Hot Desking User: Users with a Login Code set within this User form's
Telephony tab. This user can use this login code to log onto the associated
extension (and all its associated settings) from any telephone - Hot
Desking.
Newly created users are automatically logged into their handsets, provided that the Forced Login user configuration parameter is disabled.
Any calls in progress when the handset is repossessed on completion of the merge now belong to the new user.
If this is not the behaviour required, then the Forced Login parameters should be enabled, and the new user must log into their phone manually.
When a user is deleted, any calls in progress with this user continue without interruption. The owner if the call is transferred to the NoUser system user. When the call drops, the call is reported in the call log event stream as originating/terminating at NoUser. The handset reports Not Logged In when the user is deleted.
Merging the deletion of a user causes all references to that deleted user to be removed from the system. This includes:
DSS keys set to User.
Presence on a coverage list.
Diverts to this user.
Incoming call routes to this target.
Hunt group membership.
Internal auto-attendant transfers.
Note that if the user is logged onto IP Office Phone Manager and/or SoftConsole, the deleted user must terminate and then restart these applications manually utilizing the new user configuration.
Changing a user's extension automatically logs the user out of their current extension and into their new extension provided that this new extension exists and Forced Login is not enabled. If Forced Login is enabled, then the user remains on the current extension being used until the user logs out.
Note that changing a user's extension number affects the user's ability to collect Voicemail messages from their own extension. Each user's extension is set up as a "trusted location" under the Source Numbers tab of the User configuration form. This "trusted location" allows the user to dial *17 to collect Voicemail from his own extension. Therefore if the extension number is changed so must the "trusted location".
The following related configuration items are automatically updated when a user extension is changed:
Hunt group membership (disabled membership state is maintained).
Coverage lists containing this user.
Diverts to this user.
Incoming call routes to this destination.
Internal auto-attendant transfer-targets.
Dial in source numbers for access to user's own voicemail.
The following tabs contain configurable information for the User form: